Cricket is the most viewed sport on earth as the major nations of the world are a part of cricket-playing club in which a nation India containing of 1.3 billion cricket fans is top of the list. Cricket game is recognized as “Gentleman game” and no doubt that this game imparts a lot as well.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricket World Cup is a worldwide association cricket competition recognized in 1975. It is challenged by the men’s national teams of the members of the ICC, the sport’s international governing body. The tournament usually takes place every four years. Most recently, the 2011 Cricket World Cup, conjointly hosted by Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka in 2011, was won by India, who exhausted their co-hosts Sri Lanka. The current trophy was introduced in 1999. It always remains with the ICC, and a copy is awarded to the winning team.

ICC Cricket World Cup

Read Also: ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Schedule, Fixtures & Results

Nations with Test cricket status automatically succeed for the World Cup. Since 1996, between 3 and 6 associate nations have qualified to play in the tournament. Though an associate nation is yet to touch the final, Kenya did reach the semi final stage in 2003. Australia is the most successful team in the rivalry’s history, winning four tournaments and concluding as runner-up twice. Twice, teams have won consecutive tournaments: the West Indies won the first two editions (1975 and 1979) and Australia won three in a row (1999, 2003 and 2007). Australia has played in the maximum final matches (6 out of 10: 1975, 1987, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007). England is the only team to influence the final and not win the World Cup, finish as runner-up in all three final appearances. Matches in the first 3 World Cups were 60 overs a side,  the ones afterward have been abridged to 50 overs a side.

19 different nations have competent for the finals of the Cricket World Cup at smallest once in the ten tournaments held to-date; 7 of those teams have contested in every tournament and five different winners have communal the ten titles. Seven places have hosted the final: Lord’s Cricket Ground is the only one to have presented multiple finals, those of 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999. India is the only country that has presented a World Cup final at more than one venue, Eden Gardens in 1987 and Wankhede Stadium in 2011.

 ICC Cricket World Cup 1